Congressional Leadership

20160925_unc_stugov_1-65

From the Student Constitution, Article I (Legislative), Section 9 (Officers of the Student Congress):

“The Congress shall elect from its membership a Speaker and other officers, as it shall determine.”

Student Congress is led by the Speaker, Speaker Pro-Tempore, Standing Committee Chairs, Select Committee Chairs, and Committee Vice Chairs.

Speaker’s Office

Office Name Email District Studies
Speaker Cole Simons wsimons@live.unc.edu 7 (Off Campus) Peace, War and Defense & Public Policy
Speaker Pro-Tempore Chase  McConnachie chasemc@live.unc.edu 7 (Off Campus) Management and Society

Standing Committee Chairs

Committee Chaired Name Email District Studies
Finance Benjamin  Albert btalbert@live.unc.edu  6 (Greek Housing)  Business and Economics
Rules & Judiciary Phillip Jester pjester@live.unc.edu 7 (Off-Campus)  Political Science and Economics
Oversight & Advocacy Sarah Hudak sahudak@live.unc.edu  1 (North Campus) Environmental Science
Ethics Katharine Shriver katmary@live.unc.edu 1 (North Campus) Political Science and Public Policy

Select Committee Chairs

Committee Chairs Name Email District Studies
Academics  Kennith Echeverria  kennith_echeverria@med.unc.edu  3 (South Campus West) Biology and Political Science
Campus Climate  Briana Martin brimar@live.unc.edu  8 (Apartment Housing)
Campus Development Phillip Jester  pjester@live.unc.edu  7 (Off-Campus)  Political Science and Economics
Health  Kirsten Wiedbusch  kwied@live.unc.edu  7 (Off-Campus)  Biology

Standing Committee Vice Chairs

Committee Name Email District Studies
Finance Aidan Hennessy aidanh@live.unc.edu 1 (North Campus)
Rules & Judiciary Chris Lee Brenes  kira@unc.edu 7 (Off-Campus) Computer Science & Economics
Oversight & Advocacy Olivia Elkins  oelkins@live.unc.edu  7 (Off-Campus) Peace, War, and Defense & English