Members of Congress

Student Congress is comprised of 41 student representatives, both undergraduate and graduate members, elected from eleven districts, with undergraduate representation divided by on-campus regions or off-campus, and graduate representation divided by department.

  • District 1 – 4 – North Campus Alderman, Alexander, Aycock, Cobb, Connor, Everett, Graham, Grimes, Joyner, Kenan, Lewis, Mangum, Manly, McIver, Old East, Old West, Ruffin, Spencer, Stacy, and Winston
    • Katharine Shriver – Ethics Chair – katmary@live.unc.edu
    • Aiden Hennessy – Finance Vice-Chair – aidanh@live.unc.edu
    • Sarah Hudak – Oversight & Advocacy Chair – sahudak@live.unc.edu
  • District 2 – 1 – Middle Campus Avery, Carmichael, Parker, and Teague
    • Adam Sommers – asommers@live.unc.edu
  • District 3 – 3 – South Campus – West – Craige, Craige North, Hardin, Hinton, and Morrison
    • Brandon Ivey – branivey@live.unc.edu
    • Lucky Prachith – arnoluck@live.unc.edu
    • Kennith Echeverria – kennith_echeverria@med.unc.edu
  • District 4 – 3 – South Campus – East – Ehringhaus, Hinton James, Horton, and Koury
  • District 5 – 2 – Granville Towers
    • Christopher Canter – cacanter@live.unc.edu
  • District 6 – 1 – Greek Housing
    • Benjamin Albert – Finance Chair – btalbert@live.unc.edu
  • District 7 – 11 – Off Campus
    • Cole Simons – Speaker – wsimons@live.unc.edu
    • Chase McConnachie – Speaker Pro-Tempore – chasemc@live.unc.edu
    • Christopher Lee – Rules & Judiciary Vice-Chair – chrispy@live.unc.edu
    • Colin Russell – colinunc@live.unc.edu
    • Michael Drewery – drewerm@live.unc.edu & michaeldrewery1@gmail.com
    • Olivia Elkins – Oversight & Advocacy Vice-Chair – oelkins@live.unc.edu
    • Brian Vercauteren – vercaute@live.unc.edu
    • Kirsten Wiedbusch – kwied@live.unc.edu
    • Mel Bethune – mlbethune@live.unc.edu
    • Douglas Levine – dwlevine@live.unc.edu
    • Phillip Jester – Rules & Judiciary Chair – pjester@live.unc.edu
  • District 8 – 1 – Apartment Housing – Ram Village and Baity Hill
    • Briana Martin – brimar@live.unc.edu
  • District 9 – 4 – Schools of Business, Government, Information and Library Science, Journalism and Mass Communication, and Law
    • Brittany Morrison – britmorr@live.unc.edu
  • District 10 – 7 – Schools of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, and Social Work
  • District 11 – 4 – College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Education
    • Manuel Hernandez – mhernan@live.unc.edu
    • Yanni Lai – yannil@live.unc.edu

Current Membership (July 2016)

Total Seats 41
Total Sitting Members 24
Undergraduates 22
Graduate Students 3
Vacancies 17
Quorum 13